Throwback Thursday: Ace of Base (All That She Wants) Edition

friends_dancing

Hello Everybody! Welcome back and I hope you’re having a lovely Throwback Thursday! Today is the day we bask in the nostalgia that was the 1990’s, a time when GAK, Sock em’ Boppers, and Moonshoes were all the rage. At the time the Swedish pop group, Ace of Base, took the world by storm with hits like “The Sign”, “Don’t Turn Around” and my favorite… “All That She Wants”. Almost 20 years later their snyth-pop and lyrical style have influenced a slew of artists in different genres. Today I have for you a couple of reincarnations of my favorite track, “All That She Wants”.

The first track I have for you is a remix of a cover… I know right. The Austalian duo, Yolanda Be Cool and artists SYF & Fritz Helder, originally came together to produced the cover on Dim Mak records (Founded by cake throwing expert, Steve Aoki). The original cover was already a funky ode to the Ace of Base original and had heavy elements of deep-house. LA-based Human Life, a.k.a. Matthew Wasley, took this cover, sped it up, and added his own elements that make this remix one of a kind. While the track is a whopping 7 minutes and 29 seconds, its definitely a good listen and I personally recommend it for running or other work out activities.

The next track I have for you, while also 5 mins plus in length, is a another great listen. Up-and-coming producers SNBRN and KLATCH come together to great a faster pace deep house remix of the original Ace of Base track. Most of the elements found in this track are literally straight from the 90’s and have been reworked to fit the modern deep house style. I’ll admit the first 50 seconds are just pure build-up, but I promise you the next 5 minutes make it worth the listen. This remix slightly preserves the original melody then alters it a little and then mixes in original samples that we know and love. All-in-All this a great remix that is worth a couple of listens.

Leave a comment